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5 ways the on-demand economy has disrupted the way we study and learn

A major shift in the way we share and consume educational content

Be it instant streaming of movies, online home delivery of food or car rental services, the on-demand economy is expanding at a very fast pace covering all sectors of business. So, why should the education sector be left behind?

Further, the education industry is one of fast-growing industries across the globe. Hence, any innovation in the education sector can mark a significant change across lives. Let’s understand the buzz called on-demand economy and how can it disrupt the education sector.

A target of the on-demand economy

At first sight, the education sector is all about learning and teaching. Also, it has been one of the oldest professions in the whole world. However, it faces many challenges that include the increasing number of students in classes, different learning requirements of each student, difficulties in finding reliable tutors and high educational costs.

Traditional methods of teaching weren’t effective and that is how the on-demand economy took over the education sector. Most of the things have gone online.

According to Stratistics MRC, the Global E-Learning Market accounted for $165.21 billion in 2015 and is expected to reach $275.10 billion by 2022 growing at a CAGR of 7.5% during the forecast period.

How the education sector got disrupted

With technology, the style of imparting learning and consuming educational content has seen a major shift. The factors contributed to this paradigm shift are:

  • Online repository of e-books, tutorials and videos
  • Innovative learning models
  • Virtual assistants
  • Enhanced teacher-parent communication
  • Bridging communication gaps between educational institutions, students and parents

With an endless number of online courses, private online tutors, e-books, book rental services, virtual classrooms, the list of the various ways in which the on-demand economy has disrupted the education sector goes on and on.

Let us have a look!

1. Marketplace for tutors and students

Educational websites and mobile apps with interactive e-learning technology and innovative games related to various subjects create a sense of enthusiasm in students.

Quality educational apps offers premium benefits like:

It connects students as well as tutors on any desired subject or topic as per their needs with one-to-one sessions. Virtual classrooms and video lessons make learning convenient for students. Some well-known educational websites and apps are Byju’s learning app, tutor.com, Embibe, Vedantu etc.

2. Better communication and transparency between students, tutors, and parents

Especially in school education, frequent teachers’ parents meeting regarding students’ progress and learning are important. However, with growing number of students and growing number of working parents, educational institutions find it challenging to arrange these meetings on timely basis.

Parents need to know more than just how their child is going ahead with their schooling, but each student also needs to know his or her own  progress. This can be done with regular tests, assessments and observations.

On-demand educational mobile apps enable teachers and students to stay connected 24×7. They can share their doubts and feedbacks at any time. The timely feedback of assessments is an efficient way of clearing doubts, which can enhances communication lines between the tutors and students. From online portals, students can even download tutorials as per their convenience. The transparency is also increased as scorecards can be viewed easily and discussed.

Also read: How artificial intelligence is disrupting education

3. Online book rental services and bookstores

Companies like the Amazon and Flipkart have made the availability of books and e-books more convenient. Sale of new as well as old books with CDs, DVDs or pendrive courses has benefited students. Besides, book rental services provided by thriftbooks.com have contributed to the online collection of educational resources.

4. Freelancing and online employment opportunities

Gone are those days when you had to go for walk-in interviews to get a job as a tutor or professor. Instead of getting fixed into 9 to 5 jobs, the on-demand economy has made it possible to work as per convenience. Hence, freelancing and online tutoring have become a hot option for many people. Anyone with the required skills and mastery over their subjects can teach online and upload video lectures on YouTube, Udemy or Coursera. The on-demand economy has actually created a lot of employment opportunities in education sector.

5. Cheap online courses and free certification

The innumerable number of cheap on-demand Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) with free certifications have not only attracted students but also working professionals, and anyone who wants to gain knowledge. The secure payment methods by CCAvenue, PayPal etc. make transactions easy to deal with. Everything is on click now, we just need to get started with it.

Wrapping up

The on-demand economy has revolutionised the education sector. If you are skeptical, I will suggest you go and register yourself for some online educational / professional course today and reap their benefits sitting in your home on your couch.

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This article was first published on e27, on September 19, 2018.

e27 publishes relevant guest contributions from the community. Share your honest opinions and expert knowledge by submitting your content here.

Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

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8 SEO tools most used by bloggers and marketers in 2019

SEO tools for marketers that are becoming a key factor in improving search ranking

Without search engine optimisation, it becomes tough for any business to survive the competition in this age of cutthroat competition.

With the increase in internet traffic promoting brands and products through SEO 2019 will be a significant tool to stay on the top of the search engine list

One can get many tools, but not all are as good as they are claimed and listed below are some of the best SEO tools India that needs to be used by bloggers in 2019.

Google keyword planner

To use this keyword, one needs to create a Google Adwords account.

After creating the account type the keyword that you need and the Google Keyword Planner will pop up a list which is based on relevance or a prediction of the average searches per month, level of competition and the top page bid.

Also Read: How To Win at Google: A Crash Course on SEO

It will help a blogger or a marketer have an overall idea and use the perfect keywords to stay in the race.

One can specify the location, add filters, and even date ranges to get the latest trends in keywords for a particular segment.

SEMrush

 

With SEMrush by your side, that will research the perfect keyword for you and promote you, the tensions of being noticed are over.

Internet marketers trust it throughout the world. One can track the errors or create the report on their own.

You can get the backlinks, ideas, latest trends, and position tracking and even compare domain against a domain. You can monitor your brand, get organic traffic insights and know the keyword difficulty level. One can avail the monthly or the annual plan and subscribe accordingly.

 

Unamo 

With Unamo you will not only be able to do your SEO but can also monitor social media as well as optimise conversation rates.

One can split the multiple engines across different domains to get better control over the users. You will be positioned better and be able to set up numerous campaigns through a single area and monitor different pages.

You will even be able to get the mobile rankings and be able to view the results of the keywords one is monitoring while using or thinking to use.

unamo-SEO-2019

 

Ninja outreach

If you are a blogger or digital marketer, you need to build the link or generate leads to stay on the top of the list.

You can do this with automated emails the schedule of which can be fixed, manage your significant campaigns and market influencers through the built-in CRM and many more.

You can avail all the social media influencers as well as scalable outreach tools through this software. The pricing varies on the number of services you want to take.

 

Google mobile-friendly test

 

With this, you can easily make out how best is your website for the mobile and take the corrective measures.

With more and more internet traffic building up through mobile phones as they have gone smart, it is time for you to go smart to stay on the top of the list.

It has become one of the vital SEO tools for marketers to check the content errors like the width, text sizes, viewport plug-in supports and many more critical issues to make the website mobile friendly and get the most traffic.

Also Read: How to best optimise SEO practices

Google webmaster console

If you want to be noticed in the considerable web-world, then this tool is going to be a big hit and become the best SEO tools.

It helps to give you information about your site or application, track the site performances in the search results and suggest and fix errors to increase the visibility while one is searching with a particular keyword. With Google by your side, you get alerted as soon as any error is observed so that you can fix it without delay.

GTMetrix

Speed is going to be more challenging for all businesses, and many bloggers and marketers have already started preparing for that.

GTmterix is going to be the best SEO 2019 application and software that enables to increase the page speed, gives the page load details like the time, number of visits or the size and other analysis and provides a real-time page analysis.

You can even analyze your page through a mobile phone. There are basic versions as well as many paid plans, and one can choose according to the need.

Woo Rank

More and more bloggers and marketers are using this SEO tool to analyze their website, and it has become one of the most popular instant checker as well as an SEO audit tool.

The users are getting the keyword tools through which monitoring can be done by keyword tracking, getting information on volume and ranking and keyword competitors.
Overview.

woorank-SEO-2019

The above is the list of 8 best SEO tools bloggers and marketers are already using, which are most likely to be high in demand in the year 2019.

Also Read: How to avoid SEO disasters

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How coworking is reshaping the workforce

The modern workforce is more creatively-focused than ever and will allow professionals to boost imagination directly from those around.

The modern workforce has undergone some rather tumultuous changes over the past decade; the ever-increasing digitization of the economy and continued globalization has drastically reshaped how many people all around the world make a living.

One of the most notable trends in the past few years is a renewed surge in co-working or the use of a shared workplace that enables independent individuals to collaborate freely with one another as they go about their private business or work for different companies.

The enduring vibrancy of the gig economy all but ensures that co-working arrangements won’t be going away anytime soon. Here’s how we can expect coworking to reshape the workforce in the immediate future as it continues to grow in popularity across the nation.

Say hello to the office of the future

When most people think about the future of the modern office, they often imagine smart buildings that are defined by the interconnectivity of their digital devices.

This is only natural, as we’re regularly inundated with news articles, blog posts, and pundit musings regarding “smart cities” and the IoT.

Also Read: Filling the blank space: Notable coworking space trends in Indonesia in 2017

The real future of the office could be determined by the growing trend of co-working, however, which is less about the infrastructure of the building itself and more about establishing a collaborative environment where diverse professionals can mingle with and bounce ideas off one another.

Coworking began in San Francisco, but it’s since then rapidly spread around the world, particularly when it comes to well-developed areas that need creative, well-educated intellectuals in order to remain productive.

This should come as little surprise, as those professionals most well-suited to co-working arrangements are usually those with open minds and a willingness to embrace peculiar new perspectives with the hope that they’ll deliver useful new insights.

The huge number of co-working locations around the world today attest to the fact that this professional arrangement is only going to become more common as time goes on.

But why are so many professionals eagerly embracing co-working?

After all, open-office plans that force workers to sit with one another and receive various stimuli from a multitude of sources are slowly but surely becoming a thing of the past.

The real reason that co-working is taking off is that it enables gig economy workers and creative professionals to combine the best of their talents while drastically cutting down on the costs associated with running a place of business.

Startups and freelancers are lapping it up

One of the reasons we can be so confident that co-working will endure as an employment model is that freelancers and startup companies are eagerly embracing co-working arrangements which enable them to keep their initial costs under control.

The gig economy has been rapidly expanding in recent years, with at least 60 million people currently falling under its purview, and these non-traditional workers can’t operate within a traditional workspace if they want to succeed.

By tapping into the creative gusto and technological insights of their co-workers, modern freelancers and even some rogue corporate professionals are discovering that co-working arrangements are simply more productive than their more-traditional counterparts.

It would nevertheless be insufficient to argue that co-working arrangement is taking off solely because they’re an excellent fit for the gig economy.

As a matter of fact, one of the reasons that co-working will indisputably remain a major facet of the economy is because even larger businesses are beginning to embrace the idea of housing their hard-working employees in suitable, shared spaces that are co-inhabited by workers from other companies.

It’s easy to see why companies of yester-year may have been hesitant to embrace such an arrangement.

Also Read: Coworking space: why it’s the most startup thing ever

After all, a co-working setup could jeopardize the security of their intellectual property or lead to their less-well-compensated employees leaving for greener pastures.

In the modern era, however, where collaboration is king and the free exchange of information is crucial for the ongoing vibrancy of the economy, co-working arrangements have evolved into a highly desirable tool that large companies can use to innovate and cut costs.

An analysis of what co-working spaces will look like come 2020, for instance, persuasively argues that national players are slowly but surely making their way into the middle market of the country, and thus are highly likely to embrace co-working arrangements.

There’s a focus on innovation and creativity

The final reason that co-working is set to define the future economy is that it’s virtually unmatched when it comes to bolstering innovative and creative potentials of those workers who rely on co-working arrangements.

For as long as humans have been working, we’ve been trying to arrange more productive work arrangements that enable us to achieve more by doing less.

These days, coworking is the latest step in the long line of workplace revolution which has consistently enabled us to tap into one another’s creative energies.

Sometimes, this even means benefiting from the advice of your competitors!

Furthermore, the low-cost setup of most co-working arrangements will continue to make them alluring for corporations trying to venture into new markets across the country.

All in all, the future looks very bright wherever co-working is concerned.

Also Read: 9 Coworking spaces you can head to when in Manila

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10 tips that will help launch your startup fast

Ten tips that will help launch your business faster

Every entrepreneur has dreams of watching their company become successful. But not everyone’s dream turns into reality. You might have great business ideas, but there is a big difference between having an idea and creating a successful business out of it. 

Advancing towards building startups sounds like a scary task for people who have never kicked off business before — no need to worry as we don’t mean to scare you.

Also Read: 75 per cent of startups fail: ways to increase your chances to be in the 25 per cent

Bu around 70 per cent of businesses do not survive within ten years. 

Once you have taken your business idea off the ground, it needs special considerations to get it going every year. 

 Those who want to launch their startup but don’t know where to start from, hang on.

We have compiled a list of ten tips that will help launch your business faster. Keep an eye on these tips, and your chances of failing will be less.

Create a business plan

For entrepreneurs, a business plan is nothing short of infinity stones. The future of your company will entirely depend on you. It does not just help you focus on the steps necessary to succeed in the startup community but also helps you to achieve your short and long-term goals. 

Even if your business fails, at least, it would be a planned failure.  

Let’s imagine you want to start a business that deals with logos like logo designing. While having a business plan looks essential for entrepreneurship, not everyone sees any requirement for it. Many entrepreneurs are hesitant to have their plans written down. 

However, according to business funding specialists, proper formulation, execution, and implementation are required to make the business plan work. In case you want to raise funds for your startup, having a plan in place is extremely important. 

A well-documented plan is critical to attracting lenders and investors. 

Sell whatever you like

 

Okay, you don’t have any product(s) in place to sell, no worries. There is no need to get panicked if you are confused about selling a particular product. If you have anything in mind, sell! You have logo ideas in mind, go ahead, and sell it! 

Take for an example, Warren Buffet, he started his entrepreneurial journey by selling other’s stock, Jeff Bezos began by selling books, and the list goes on. 

You will find people selling the same product(s) and earning profits. Remember, they aren’t selling anything different, but selling it differently in a better version or way. 

Also Read: “Nail it then scale it” – the new mantra for startups

In the entrepreneurial world, finding innovators is nearly impossible. It’s only because business owners aren’t innovators. They sell what others sell. So, go and do it! 

Know your market and audience well

 

If you don’t know your market or audience, it’s useless to plan out or create a long list of strategies. Use Twitter or create AdWord campaigns to get an idea of your niche and target audience. 

Although it appears simple, it’s widespread that business owners change the target audience. They do so while validating their business model. However, they need to assess deeper than discovering who they are. Businesses need to find out their interest, grievances, daily routine, and more. The more the information you gather, the better it becomes to step into the shoes of your target audience. 

Don’t focus on appealing to everyone but your market and audience. 

Build a capable workforce

You are not the jack of all trades, are you? When you kick your business idea off the ground, you might not have all the solutions and answers. For this, you need a team. Also, you need to ask an attorney to get the answers to all the legal implications your business would need.

Even after the attorney provides you with the answers, you need to consult an expert who would guide you to the best financial practices for your startup. Besides experts, you need a team of professionals who would work for your company.

For example, for logos, you need logo designers, and so on. 

Hire freelancers or remote workers

You can find the best and most affordable minds on a freelancing basis. You can hire them to get your work done without breaking your bank. Remote work concept is gaining momentum these days. You can communicate with them about your needs using various ways too.

It’s not only comfortable but fast process that gets things done on time. Find out freelancers by checking their websites or portfolios. This will give you a clue about their work and experience.

Get a co-founder

Sometimes, founding a business without a cofounder is tedious and nearly impossible. YEAH, it’s right that kicking off your startup takes more than just passion and hard work. It takes the skills and ideas of a co-founder. 

They are more likely to fund a business. Two or three co-founders running a business seem like a good idea. It helps in decision-making and creates a structural hierarchy system. On top of that, they provide the experience you lack. 

Focus on the product

Also Read: The nuances of fundraising: what startups need to know
Its a common mistake many entrepreneurs make. However, the focus should be on the quality of the product. This is the way to make money or else customers would run away after some time. 

Shifting your focus only on the financial ability of your startup would keep it off the track. Give capital, business loans, pricing models, and funding some time to evolve. A significant capital will not improve your business but it is the product which will attract more customers.

Leverage social media

Whether your business deals in graphics design or sells custom clothing, leveraging social media should be your top priority. With over 3.3 billion active users worldwide, social media proves to be the best platform to grow your business. Ignoring it can become fatal.

At first, it can be a bit challenging to grow your audience, but as followers come to your social profile and site, it becomes easier to grow. For a dedicated social media campaign, hire a social media manager. The person would be responsible for all the marketing efforts on these channels.

Make sure you improve your Google rankings too. 

Attend events

We live in a digital era, but that doesn’t mean we should forget networking events.

Growing online contacts is essential so as networking on the personal front.

Find out the events taking place in your target industry. This will help you steer clear of anyone who isn’t in your niche. Introduce yourself along with your products. Speaking face-to-face is the best way to grow your network and market your offerings. 

Don’t just focus on attending events, but sponsor and organise some activities to draw attention too.

Engage with your audience

Of course, the sole purpose of any business is to sell. But being a brand that customers could relate with isn’t wrong either. Returning customers are a significant factor in a business’ success.

Find out ways to engage with them. Ask for their opinions and feedback. 

Conclusion

All in all, being an entrepreneur isn’t easy, but the sooner you start, the better you become. So, follow the above tips and get ready to kick your business ideas! 

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5 benefits of marketing automation for a CMO

Marketing activities require a huge investment and take a long time to show results if they are not automated.

 

Marketing automation is more than scheduling your social media posts. As a CMO, you should be aware of these 5 benefits.

The realms of marketing have changed by leaps and bounds in the last few years.

With companies adopting digital transformation, automation is making waves in the business ecosystem. Marketing automation increases productivity, the reach of the business and increases conversions.

CMO’s are spending large sums of their marketing budget in adopting marketing automation because it saves them time, effort as well as reduces the need for human involvement.

In simpler terms, marketing automation is a technology that manages marketing processes and campaigns across multiple channels automatically.

Also Read: Best B2B marketing KPIs that directly impact sales growth

A business can use this technology to target and reengage with customers through social media, email, text and web.

They can either be built from scratch, or you can customise an existing platform. Repetitive tasks are tackled by marketing automation to reduce human error and to free up the time of your resources to solve high-priority issues.

Marketing automation helps in lead generation, nurturing them, in online marketing, to streamline sales activities and to measure the ROI of marketing campaigns.

Take a look at these statistics that reflect the power of automation.

According to the latest reports, marketing automation drives up to a 14.5 per cent increase in the productivity of sales and 12.2 per cent reduction in marketing overhead.

80 per cent of marketing automation users observed an increase in the number of leads by using marketing automation software, and 77 per cent saw higher conversions. 91 per cent of professionals who use marketing automation believes it to be “essential” for the success of their online marketing activities.

With the statistics already elucidating the potential of marketing automation, let’s shed some light on the advantages of marketing automation

Automation enables the creation of personalised and timely content

Customers prefer a personalised experience by brands. Automation is the best way to do that. Spray and pray marketing is no longer useful. Reach out to your customers at the right time with relevant content and videos personalised for them.

This includes sending emails and push notifications based on trigger actions such as cart abandonment and account creation. As compared to regular emails, triggered emails have a 2x higher open rate and a 3x higher click-through rate. This increases the chances of conversions.

Consider an example: Amazon sends out product recommendation emails based on the previous purchases of the individual subscriber.

Marketing automation workflows are effective to reengage with customers who haven’t engaged with your brand recently or haven’t made a repeat purchase from your brand.

Automation saves time

By automating social media posts and social network advertising, you can save more than 6 hours a week. Moreover, you can increase the response rate to emails by 250 per cent.

Automation tools help you save up to 80 per cent of the time needed to fix an appointment with clients.

Imagine the luxury of not having to send emails or post on the different social media channels one by one. Automation allows you to plan it all well in advance and focus on your business strategy to yield better ROI.

Automation streamlines your retargeting campaigns

With the help of automation tools, you can impart a consistent experience to your target audience in line with their actions.

Let’s assume you have a new subscriber on your website. You can set up an automation workflow that will automatically send a welcome email introducing your brand along with an incentive for the first-time user.

You can then send out drip email campaigns to nurture the prospect and also employ retargeting on social media channels like Facebook.

Keep your brand on the top of the prospect’s mind and increase the likelihood of conversion. However, ensure that the advertisements do not get creepy and annoying for the reader.

AI and automation: a match made in heaven

 

Automation leverages artificial intelligence to predict the best time to send a brand message so that it receives maximum visibility over digital and social media channels.

A report from Vanson Bourne found that 80 per cent of businesses use AI in some form and automation is the most common application of this technology.

AI-powered canned responses are a part of a lot of brands’ customer support arsenal. While human empathy is irreplaceable, conversational chatbots assist in answering the frequently asked questions.

For customer support, in the same live chat, you can even include video messages to answer the FAQs for a greater level of personalisation.

You can either place the chatbot on your website or facebook messenger.

The key to balancing AI in customer service is to let the customer representative take over when the bot misses the context of the conversation.

Automation makes you smart

Identify the repetitive tasks and automate them using tools. Although this saves your time in the long run, it doesn’t mean that you will have to do less work. Nor can a CMO or the team afford to lose their focus on innovation.

Your team still needs to create and curate content consistently. You can automate scheduling your social media posts using Zoho Social. Automation allows your team to make data-driven decisions to optimise your efforts strategically.

Collecting data is not tough anymore. The difficulty lies in using this data to create engaging and personalised experiences that customers crave for.

Also Read: 5 content marketing trends you need to heed

Here’s what you can automate in your marketing strategy to drive engagement.

Social media marketing

Building a social media presence for a global audience can get time-consuming.

Let’s assume you are based in India, but most of your clients are in the US. It is strongly recommended that you schedule your social media posts in their time zone for better visibility.

Tools such as Crello help you create images for social media. Hootsuite and Buffer can help you schedule and automate your social media posts. Businesses who have their prospective customers in a different time zone can mainly make the most of such tools.

Capture data about people engaging with your brand on social media. The metrics include demographic information, the kind of content the followers’ download, how often your posts are clicked, liked and shared, and what type of content they are interested in. These help you create and share targeted content to supercharge the engagement.

Email marketing

Email marketing is most effective when you send the right email at the right time to the right person. To follow this marketing trend, you ought to have different automation workflows that trigger emails as soon as the subscriber takes a particular action.

  • Send a series of welcome emails to the new subscriber.
  • Nurture the prospects with drip email campaigns.
  • Send post-purchase email to the customers and ask for their feedback.
  • Re-engage the inactive subscribers with a win-back email campaign.

You can send all these emails with the help of automation tools such as Drip and Zapier. They give you access to the performance of these email campaigns so that you can keep optimising for the best results.

Monitoring CRM with enhanced routing

With the help of an automation tool Azuqua, you can build custom processes for your business without the need for coding any complicated integrations. This platform can link CRM software like Salesforce to social media platforms.

It can also be used to keep track of the online mentions of the brand, thereby following up with the negative mentions instantly and resolving such issues.

Lead-flow processes

Generating leads and setting lead-flow processes can get quite time-consuming. It can take hours to download, format, and upload a single list.

Therefore, automation becomes an indispensable aspect of marketing. Tools like HubSpot and Marketo can assist you with this process. You can integrate these tools with a CRM and email platform and then focus on the crucial marketing activities.

Marketing analytics

It is incumbent upon every marketer to analyse the performance of marketing activities and the ROI. Automation gives you detailed information about marketing analytics from acquisition to conversion to closure. HubSpot’s Marketing Analytics gives you a clear insight into the entire marketing funnel and every interaction the prospect had with your brand.

Over to you…

 

Also Read: A guide to marketing apps effectively through affiliate marketing

Automation has provided an efficient, lucrative, and cost-effective method of maintaining lead generation processes with proper nurturing and scoring.

Have you implemented marketing automation to acquire new customers or amplify customer retention? How has it worked for you? Let us know in the comments below.

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4 tips for creating highly engaging video advertisements

What are ways to leverage video advertisements

 

“Videos manage to create three times more customer engagement than written content.”

Maybe you are reading this phrase for the 50th time in the last few months and have been completely overwhelmed by it.

But it’s the truth!

Videos seem to have weaved some magical spell among today’s online audience. As always, every other person is jumping into this trend wagon and, as always, only a few are able to make the most out of it.

Videos are not your regular TV ads.

They mandatorily require an “Inherent Engagement Factor” throughout their duration, or they are immediately rejected.

So how do you create and maintain this engagement factor?

Let’s find out.

Relevance

You are watching an interesting Instagram video and after a minute…

That dreaded message shows up on your screen, “Video ad starting soon.”

In my opinion, promoting your video ads between other videos is the most ineffective way one can promote his content. Majority of times, the viewer is so engrossed in the actual video he is watching that he barely pays any attention to yours.

Sometimes, he gets so frustrated that he quits watching the original video, the moment he gets notified that your ad is going to play.

So what’s the solution?

Also Read: Here are 3 types of kick-ass marketing videos you can create for your service or product

Well, for a start, you should drop the idea of promoting your content in between videos and focus on video ads that play, before a particular video begins.

Secondly, lay significant emphasis on the various platforms that you are promoting your content on, and ensure that there is a robust connection in terms of relevance, between the content you are promoting and the platform you are promoting it on.

Now let’s talk about the trump card –

 Something that can create strong customer engagement, and remove any form of disinterest that customers generally have with video ads:

These are “one-liners at the beginning of the video that focuses on providing immediate value to the customer”.

 If your introductory one-liner manages to woo your customer, then there is a high chance that he might go through the entirety of your video, to know more about your product or service.

Keeping viewers hooked

 As mentioned succinctly, in the previous part, hopefully, it has become apparent to you that the “instant wow factor” is crucial for creating engagement through video ads.

So what are some foolproof measures you can undertake to maintain this wow factor throughout the length of your video?

Featuring known personalities or a testimonial from them is something that always works.

However, random celebrities are a big no and can immediately raise eyebrows regarding the credibility of your content.

What works is if you can rope in online marketers like Neil Patel or Gary Vee in your next video regarding social media lead generation.

But, hiring such influencers is not a child’s play.

You need to produce some exclusive content and should have modest brand equity in the market, before even thinking of soliciting these guys.

How about something that is relatively more feasible for small and medium-sized businesses as well?

Have you ever thought of telling a story through your videos, and make your viewers part of that storyline?

Also Read: Video publisher platform iVideoSmart raises Series A+ funding

A story that has a hero, who faces a lot of hardships at first, but after following the guidelines given out by your video, is able to achieve his goal.

Let’s say…

Mike is a small online business owner who is not able to create sufficient lead generation to support his business.

He is facing stiff competition from his competitors who are much better off and established than him and can hire professional agencies to reach their lead generation goals.

One day he stumbles upon a retired ace marketer, who decides to help him with his lead generation.

The marketer tells him about certain sure-shot strategies that can help him generate quality leads.

Mike diligently follows the tips and is slowly able to increase his lead generation numbers.

Finally, after five years, he is a successful online entrepreneur.

The contribution a storyline brings to your Video marketing game is that a customer gets hooked to your story and its characters and watches the video in entirety to know about the outcome.

Leveraging the power of experiential marketing

 What else can effectively appeal your customer other than making them visually experience, how is it to use your product in real life?

Heard about surprise customer trials?

Yes, these should be your go-to thing while incorporating experience marketing in your video ads.

Check out how virgin airlines nailed their Surprise Customer Trial.

The USP of surprise trials is that they can capture, completely raw and natural reactions from your target audience.

 Something that has the ability to immediately excite your customer, who is watching it in a video, and encourage him to have a similar sort of experience.

So what’s the best way to include such surprise trials in your video ads?

Also Read: How do I create a memorable promotional brand or product video?

You can always create small video snippets of the actual surprise trial video that you have recorded and add these snippets in your video ads.

Adding a good introductory line before playing the snippet would always be a bonus.

A video editing software might come in quite handy in this scenario.

Emotions always work

 Are you explicitly communicating the value offerings of your product/service through your video ads?

That’s great, but so is your competitor.

So how can you create the much-needed exclusivity in your videos?

Associating the implicit benefit attached to your product, in your videos is an effective way to do this.

Your video should help the customer realize what he/she is missing out by not consuming your product/service.

For example

A video ad for an on-demand house cleaning app may portray a notion that

By booking their services a customer is gifted with the much needed free time to binge-watch his favourite TV show, during the weekend, as he doesn’t have to bear the responsibility of cleaning his house anymore.

In this manner, the customer is highly likely to develop an emotional connection with the added benefit that your product is offering.

Wrapping up…

 Before you start following these guidelines, there’s one crucial thing that you should do first.

Try to know your target customer in and out; their likes dislikes preferences, expectations, beliefs, etc.

It’s only then that you can do perfect justice to these guidelines and create highly engaging videos.

Editor’s note: e27 publishes relevant guest contributions from the community. Share your honest opinions and expert knowledge by submitting your content here.

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Best B2B marketing KPIs that directly impact sales growth

KPIs that Chief Marketing Officers should be concerned about and how to calculate it.

B2B businesses have the longest sales cycle and a wrong move can negatively impact the overall conversion ratio of your business. 

Around 58 per cent of B2B buyers said the decision process is longer in 2017 than it was in 2016. It is continuously growing with every passing year. 

This is the reason, data-driven B2B marketers always rely on clear KPIs to power up their marketing campaigns.

Startup founders who do not take their marketing KPIs seriously find themselves in a tricky situation later on.

Some of the key B2B metrics that every startup should track are discussed below:

1. Monthly recurring revenue (MRR)

MRR stands for Monthly Recurring Revenue. This is the amount that enters the account each month as subscription charges.

Suppose ABC company acquires 10 new customers who have subscribed to individual packages worth $99 each month. The total MRR for the month would be $99×10 =$990.

Now, after a month, the company again acquires 7 new customers who have subscribed to individual packages worth US$99 each. The existing MRR would be $990 while the new MRR would be US$99×7 = US$693.

Hence, the total MRR would be 990 + 693= USD$1683. 

2. Customer lifetime revenue (CLR)

Also Read: A day in the life of StashAways CEO and co-founder

This is a key metric that measures the revenue you receive from your repeat customers within a specified period of time. For a subscription-based business model, this period can be assumed to be of 14 months. New customers stay with the business for around 14 months before they quit. 

Identifying CLR values can help you determine the optimal cost of CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost). Suppose if your CLR is USD$250 and the CAC is USD$275 then you are at a loss. CLR should always be higher than CAC. 

Klipfolio is a great tool that lets you measure the CLR or the CLV (Customer Lifetime Value) accurately and displays it on the dashboard.

 

3. Website traffic

The total number of traffic the website receives is a great metric to track because it tells you about the effectiveness of your digital marketing efforts.

You can use the free Google Analytics tool to track the number of visits to your site.

Moreover, you can sort the visits on the basis of desktop, mobile or on the basis of the top channels that are sending traffic to your site.

Also Read: A consolidation of digital marketing tricks for startups

4- Landing Page Conversion Rate

In order to optimize your entire website for conversions, it is important to track the pages that are converting the maximum visitors.

The average landing page conversion rate is a little more than 30 per cent.

Hence, you need to keep the landing pages conversion higher than the industry average. Analytics software like Finteza is essential to identify which campaigns are performing well and leading to sales.

You can apply filters according to your business goals to get the maximum details about a campaign. 

A lot of people browse through the landing page and exit without doing any transaction and only a few users reach the target stage.

In order to identify the well-performing campaigns, click on the landing page stage under the ad campaign tab. 

You don’t need to configure funnels. Finteza will link all the events with the same prefix into a single conversion funnel and will arrange actions accordingly.

In case you want to change a funnel, just click on the edit mode which can be found at the upper right corner of the corresponding button. 

It is very important for startups to analyze the marketing funnel as it will help them understand at which stage most of the users are finding difficulty. 

KPIs for B2B Advanced Marketing

When you have understood the importance of KPIs and have started evaluating the overall performance of your marketing team then the time is ripe to move on to apply advanced marketing KPIs into your B2B marketing strategy.

Trial conversion rate

The trial conversion rate measures the potential of your trial subscriptions to qualify into actual paid subscribers. 

Trial conversion can let you understand the effectiveness of your marketing campaigns and ensure that you offer the right solution to the right people. 

Trial conversion rate can be high or low.

A high value indicates that your trial has the potential to qualify into paying customers while a low value indicates that your software isn’t liked by the people because it isn’t solving the most pressing problems.

Online order frequency

Also Read: Marketing tools and tips to grow your business online

Most B2B businesses focus on improving revenue rather than the flow of online orders. This is where measuring the online order frequency can come handy.

Online order frequency can be tracked using a tool like Google Analytics. The order frequency is directly proportional to the number of qualified prospects visiting your website. 

Conducting surveys about the experience of buying on your site from your existing customers can prove to be extremely beneficial in improving the online order frequency.

Average sales cycle (ASC)

The ASC  is the time taken by the customers to close the deal from the first interaction they had with the brand. 

This should not come as a surprise but most of the B2B marketers do not measure this value and are pretty unaware of the actual time the customer takes to convert.

The sales cycle should be as short as possible. Right after the lead is generated, all the strategies related to lead nurturing should be applied in order to convert the prospect at the earliest. 

InsightSquared is the tool that is pretty useful in tracking your current sales cycle and also provides forecasts to make accurate decisions on time.

Net promoter score (NPS)

The NPS measures customer experience. This score is correlated with revenue growth and is used to identify the loyalty of the customer towards a business. 

A Net Promoter Score divides your customers into 3 types:

  • Detractors: They rate your business between 0-6 on a scale of 10 and are the biggest threat to your business. They aren’t satisfied with your product and often complain about your products or services. 
  • Passives: They are also known as the uncommitted. They rate you between 7-8 on a scale of 10. They have the maximum chances of leaving your company if they find a good offer from your competitors.
  • Promoters: They are your real fans and rate you 9-10 on a scale of 10. They are your real fans and have the potential to make your business go viral.

You can calculate the NPS using the below formula:

  • (Number of Promoters — Number of Detractors) / (Number of Respondents) x 100. Suppose you have 100 promoters, 30 detractors and 200 respondents then your NPS would be (100-30)/200X100 = 35. NPS is always represented as an integer and not as a percentage.

Final Thoughts

There are so many KPIs that Chief Marketing Officers should be concerned about. The best ones have been discussed in this article.

Listing down all the KPIs in one centralized place and taking appropriate actions to improve their numbers is one of the best ways to maximize the performance of your B2B marketing strategies. 

Editor’s note: e27 publishes relevant guest contributions from the community. Share your honest opinions and expert knowledge by submitting your content here.

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Differences between AI and Machine Learning, and why it matters

A short difference between AI and Machine Learning

 

Artificial intelligence and machine learning are changing the world entirely, but some are confused between the two terms that what they truly are.

Sometimes they used as synonyms while in other cases; they are used as discrete or parallel advancements. But if you want to use these two in an effective and useful manner, you must understand the differences between these.

Differences between AI and Machine

Also Read: 75 per cent of startups fail: ways to increase your chances to be in the 25 per cent

Learning

If you are confused between the two terms such as their meaning, uses and advantages. Below are the key differences between AI and machine learning. 

What is Machine Learning?

It is the branch of artificial intelligence where you study computer algorithms to allow computer programs to improve through the experience automatically.

For example, if you are providing a list of your favourite songs to a machine learning model along with the audio statics like dance, instruments or tempo, etc, it will automate and generate the recommender system to suggest the music in the future you would like to enjoy.

This type of machine learning is known as supervised learning where its algorithms can model relationships and dependencies between the target prediction output and input features so that we could predict the output value of new data through the relationships.

According to Case Study Assignment Help, Another type of machine learning is unsupervised learning which is the family of machine learning algorithms to be used in pattern detection and descriptive modelling.

Also Read: AI, singularity, and machine learning explained in 5 minutes

What is Artificial Intelligence?

Apart from machine learning, artificial intelligence is, on the other hand, is completely wide and different in scope. You can understand with the use of the word “Artificial” which refers to something made by a human, i.e. nonnatural thing while “Intelligence” means the ability to understand and think.

Most of the people believe that artificial intelligence is a system, but that is not correct.

It is not a system; rather AI is implemented in the system. You can take the meaning of AI with other definitions like, it is the study of providing training to computers to make them do things which humans can do better in the present. 

Therefore, we can say that AI is intelligence, where we have the opportunity to add all the capabilities to the machine, are being contained by humans.

AI aims to increase the chances of success instead of accuracy to simulate natural intelligence for solving complex problems, and it works like a computer program for smart working. 

Also Read: What you probably didnt know about machine learning

Conclusion 

Now you know the critical differences in AI and machine learning and to be summarized, we can say that machine learning is all about the experience to look for the pattern it learned while AI uses its experiences for getting knowledge and skills and applying that knowledge for new environments.

Afterwards, many organisations are attempting to separate themselves with the AI to enhance its better use.

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Children deserve to be taught these 3 essential entrepreneurial skills

Creativity, personal branding, and learning from failure

Widely-available, high-quality public schooling is one of the many hallmarks of a successful country. Without public schools, literacy rates would plummet, countries’ gross domestic product would drop, and life would generally be harder for everyone. When each generation is adequately educated, it leads to success for everyone.

One of the subjects that isn’t often taught in public schools is entrepreneurship. Considering that the United States is home to the world’s most active economy and roughly 99.7 percent of all businesses are small businesses, not being taught about entrepreneurship cuts potential students short and makes it more difficult for them to find possible careers they can pursue in the future.

It’s safe to say that entrepreneurship should be taught in schools from a young age. If you need more convincing, here are a handful of lessons about entrepreneurship all school kids should learn that can be applicable later in life.

1. Being creative

Creativity doesn’t just apply to entrepreneurship; it applies to just about everything in life. Creativity is especially important to thriving in an entrepreneurial capacity. A survey of over 100 failed startups conducted by CB Insights found that the most common reason why they failed was that owners simply didn’t provide customers with products they actually wanted to use. If you want to succeed as an entrepreneur, you need to embrace creativity and create something the consumer actually wants.

Telling someone that businesses should create goods and services customers want to buy sounds overly simple, but it’s really not. To work in business, you need to cultivate your creativity.

Also read: Innovation will win, not a trade war

2. Making a brand

Young people struggle to find themselves and accept who they truly are. Schools should help students locate their own “brand”. Focusing on the type of professional persona you want to present to the rest of the world can be helpful to students of any age, especially those beginning to look for colleges and jobs. Understanding how to create a personal brand and market that brand is a skill that can be applied to any business venture.

3. Accepting failure and moving on

Allowing children the chance to fail at a task or project, but avoiding being too harsh on them, shows them that failure sometimes happens and it’s okay. However, it’s also important to help them work toward a new goal and focus on success. Just like in business, it’s important for kids to understand that failure is okay and shouldn’t discourage you from trying again.

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This article was first published on e27, on August 29, 2018.

e27 publishes relevant guest contributions from the community. Share your honest opinions and expert knowledge by submitting your content here.

Photo by Raj Eiamworakul on Unsplash

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How Sorabel was able to push for growth after rebranding

Rebranding can be a challenging move, and Sorabel is one of those startups who managed to do it successfully. Find out how

Left to right: Sorabel Co-Founder Lingga Madu, Sorabel Co-Founder and CEO Jeffrey Yuwono

Ever since their first claim to fame in 2018, Indonesian fashion e-commerce platform Sorabel –who was known as Sale Stock Indonesia back then– has made an impression with their rapid growth.

In addition to securing 10 million downloads, this year the company has also begun its international debut by introducing its platform in the Philippines under the brand Yabel.

According to Co-Founder and CEO Jeffrey Yuwono, the international expansion is meant to be an experiment.

“We quickly put it together to see what is going to happen, but the traction has been growing … it gives us the confidence that the kind of product that we put in Indonesia can also work in the Philippines. At some point, we would like to do a proper launch in the country,” he explains.

Sorabel also sets itself apart from other fashion e-commerce companies by introducing a Coba Dulu Baru Bayar (“Try first then pay”) scheme that enables customers to order clothes, have it delivered to their door, and give them a try before they decide on purchasing the clothes.

Also Read: 5 mind-blowing quotes by startup founders at Echelon Asia Summit 2019

Launched nationwide in 2018, the feature is now running in more than 4,300 districts in Indonesia and has been able to improve their basket size –though Yuwono also does not hesitate to admit that return rates are also increasing.

“But I was happy to see that because it means people are using the programme. If the return rate does not change, then I would think of it as a failure,” he says.

In early 2019, the company made headline when it announced a rebrand to Sorabel. Generally, rebranding has been known as a challenging move that even bigger companies such as Mastercard and Pizza Hut had failed miserably at it.

But following the rebrand, Sorabel was able to increase new customer purchase by four times.

So what is the company’s secret sauce to a successful rebrand? Yuwono sits down with e27 to spill them out.

Also Read: Why timing is everything

Quality first

Before we can talk about Sorabel’s rebrand, first of all, we need to understand how the company operated and the challenge it faced.

When it first began, what Sorabel did was to buy and sell clothing products from Tanah Abang, a leading textile market in Central Jakarta. But the startup soon learned that their customers did not come back. While the price of the products was affordable, the quality was far from expectation.

“One thing to understand about our local fashion industry is that 95 per cent of all the fashion made in Indonesia, is made in very small factories or convection … The problem with these home industries is that the margin is very thin and there is no quality control,” Yuwono elaborates.

“It’s not a big deal when you buy offline because you can touch and feel the product, but online … It’d be like gambling,” the CEO stresses.

Understanding the problem, Sorabel then decided to build their own private label, which enables them to play a more active role in quality control.

Also Read: [Exclusive] Raising a new funding round, The Shonet aims to push for greater growth

“One of the reasons why we rebranded from Sale Stock to Sorabel because we are not just about the low price; we are also about the most up-to-date fashion, good quality, trustworthy services,” Yuwono says.

A familiar new face

 

Now here comes the part about the rebrand.

Following the launch of its new identity, Sorabel hired a brand research agency to measure the public’s perception of the brand. They discovered that within just three months, the brand Sorabel has replaced Sale Stock in every brand perception metric that the company tracked.

“We created the brand in just two months, which is crazy because a lot of brand agencies said that we need at least six months,” Yuwono points out.

The CEO concludes that they were able to get to that point because they understand their customer well –and they did intend to create a brand that connects well to the customers.

Also Read: Grab joins China’s ZhongAn Insurance to build digital insurance marketplace

“During the Sale Stock days, we had a customer service mascot called Soraya … I have talked to random people about online shopping and I asked our customers, have you ever shopped at Sale Stock before? And they would be, ‘Sale Stock? You mean Soraya?’” Yuwono says.

“Then for the rest of the conversation, they would refer to us as Soraya. They have an emotional connection with Soraya and not Sale Stock. Sale Stock as a brand is cold and functional, but what they remember was the warmth, chit-chat, banter with our customer service,” he continues.

The next move

 

Their successful rebrand has opened up plenty of exciting opportunities, including a foray into the offline. The startup is looking forward to expanding their offline footprint by opening a retail store.

“Now that we actually have a brand that stands for fashion, we are ready to try offline. So I am hoping to open one as soon as possible,” Yuwono says.

Sorabel is also on the process of fundraising, and the funds will be used to support their international and offline expansion.

Image Credit: Sorabel

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