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Goldbell acquires BlueSG, to invest US$52.3M in the e-car sharing firm over the next 5 years

BlueSG

Goldbell, a Singapore-based transport and engineering group, has confirmed the acquisition of local electric car-sharing startup BlueSG.

The group expects the acquisition to be completed before this August, and claims it will help accelerate BlueSG’s development and expand its operations to other smart cities across the Asia Pacific region.

Earlier, The Straits Times reported that Goldbell was in advanced talks to buy BueSG.

Goldbell intends to expand BlueSG’s business and technical capabilities with investments north of S$70 million (US$52.3 million) over the next five years. This will include expanding its current fleet of more than 650 vehicles, establish an R&D centre and develop new mobility algorithms, analytics and technologies.

BlueSG will also serve as Goldbell’s global headquarters for car sharing.

As the acquisition is expected to be completed within the next six months, the daily operations will still be managed by the current parent, French transportation company Bolloré Group, until Goldbell officially takes over.

Existing electric vehicle charging infrastructure of carparks and chargers will be managed separately under the retained ownership of Bolloré.

Goldbell said the acquisition will have minimal impact on operations and employees of BlueSG.

Also Read: BlueSG: Is electric car sharing really cheaper than other alternatives like Grab and Uber?

Launched in 2017, BlueSG is Singapore’s first electric car-sharing services established as part of the Singapore Economic Development Board and Land Transport Authority’s national-level initiative. The company claims it has since processed over 1.7 million rentals with 100,000 subscriptions sold.

“Our investment in BlueSG is a result of a long-term focus on the future mobility space and reflects the Goldbell approach to insight-driven investing. We are committed to working closely together as a team to develop innovative technology solutions that will support Singapore’s car-lite and energy-powered mobility vision,” said Arthur Chua, CEO of Goldbell Group.

According to Goldbell, BlueSG’s acquisition is in line with its “Twin Engines for Disruptive Growth” strategy — which combines the company’s domain knowledge in the industrial vehicle leasing and distribution market with venture building and investing models to “accelerate innovation”.

Goldbell also runs a global accelerator programme aimed at incubating startups in the areas of mobility, transport and logistics. Termed Move.SG, the programme is supported by Enterprise Singapore and is the nation’s first mobility-themed accelerator.

Image Credit: BlueSG

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Here are the 6 deeptech startups unveiled at Entrepreneur First Singapore’s 8th cohort

Airboxr, one of the companies that have made it to the 8th batch

Entrepreneur First (EF) has unveiled the six deep tech startups selected as part of its eighth cohort, the result of a programme that was held virtually for the first time during the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to the company, the startups received online guidance and training from EF’s Entrepreneurs-in-Residence and its team of venture partners.

EF is a talent invstor that backs individuals instead of fully formed startups. It claims to have helped over 2,000 individuals on its programme, who have gone on to build more than 200 companies with a total valuation exceeding US$1 billion.

This news also comes after EF showcased its seventh cohort of nine deeptech companies in July last year that solved problems across diverse industries such as biotech, fintech, and energy-tech.

Below is a brief description of the eight startups:

Airboxr

A no-code analytics tool for business users to consolidate and analyse data across multiple sources within their spreadsheets.

Nanofy

Leverages nanotechnology to create “self-disinfection” nanomaterials that kill microbes on contact through the absorption of visible light.

Also Read: New Antler-NUS initiative to nurture deeptech talents, to invest in 30 startups annually

Peakflo

A SaaS platform that improves cash flow liquidity for B2B SMEs through a B2B pay later solution, saving SMEs two to five per cent of their revenue. Peakflo has secured term sheets from lead investors and is looking to close their round with follow-on funding.

Project Nomi

Connects drivers with insurance companies to receive insurance risk analysis and premium pricing, delivering cost savings for drivers and improving road safety through smart coaching. Project Nomi has secured seed funding and has closed their round. The team is working on securing additional funding this year.

Sepsitron

A point-of-care and portable solution for on-the-spot diagnosis of infectious diseases.

Twurs

Empowers travel businesses with customizable and modular management software that assists with real-time bookings and reselling services.

Image Credit: Entrepreneur First

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AI-powered supply chain solutions firm Expedock bags US$4M led by early backer of Facebook, Airbnb

Expedock

Expedock, a Philippine-based Artificial Intelligence startup working with supply chain companies, announced today it has landed US$4 million in seed funding.

The round was led by a US$2.5 million investment by Ali Partovi, who had previously backed notable startups including Airbnb, Dropbox and Facebook.

Additional investors include executives from global tech companies and startups including eBay, Salesforce, LinkedIn and Instagram.

Expedock said in a statement that the funds will be used to expand its team as it seeks to accommodate a growing number of international clients.

Launched in 2019 by King Alandy Dy, Rui Aguia and Jeff Tan, Expedock’s Nuance technology allows its Artificial Intelligence to understand documents even without having seen one of the same format. It uses AI to power back-offices for businesses in cross-border container trade to revolutionize the workflow of businesses in the supply chain.

The company claims it is able to generate savings of up to 90 per cent of their clients’ operational expenses by eliminating all data extraction and data entry work for airway bills, bills of ladings, invoices, and decreases turnaround time by up to 10x.

Also Read: Why it is imperative to invest in digitalising the supply chain

“We’ve seen firsthand how the errors in the first mile of shipping lead to costly corrections amounting up to US$25,000. Freight forwarders have had to manually encode and process significant amounts of paperwork which with one mistake could cost a company thousands of dollars to correct,” remarked Alandy Dy.

Despite the global supply chain market projected to reach US$37.41 billion by 2027, with Asia Pacific experiencing the bulk of the growth, Expedock noted manual data processing remains a key biggest operational hurdle for most businesses.

Image Credit: Expedock

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Former Carro COO’s financial wellness app GajiGesa bags US$2.5M seed for Indonesia expansion

GajiGesa

GajiGesa, an Indonesian financial wellness platform, announced today it has raised US$2.5 million in a seed funding round, co-led by Silicon Valley-based Defy.vc and Quest Ventures.

GK Plug and Play, Next Billion Ventures, Alto Partners, Kanmo Group and multiple strategic angel investors also participated.

As per the company, the fresh funds will be used to expand its platform in Indonesia while also scaling its tech team in Jakarta.

GajiGesa was launched in 2020 by the husband-wife duo of Vidit Agrawal and Martyna Malinowska. Agrawal was the first Uber employee in Asia and previously the COO of automotive marketplace startup Carro. Malinowska was previously at Standard Chartered and Singapore-based fintech startup LenddoEFL.

GajiGesa’s fintech platform provides companies and their employees the tools to streamline their cash-flow by offering financial services, including Earned Wage Access (EWA), financial literacy content and bill payments.

Since its launch four months ago, GajiGesa claims it has partnered with over 30 employers and serves over 10,000 employees in Indonesia.

Also Read: Why consumers’ financial wellness is the social responsibility of fintech players

The Jakarta-based startup works with companies by integrating into their existing HR and payroll systems to ensure “hyper-efficient and immediate onboarding”. This provides employees and employers more flexibility and control over their money.

GajiGesa’s noted its app allows employees to track their earnings, access their earned wages and pay bills, among other uses. For employers, the platform allows HR teams to measure the effectiveness of financial well-being strategies and get visibility over engagement, productivity, and employee financial health.

“At GajiGesa, we’re building financial resilience at scale. EWA is crucial to increasing the short-term financial wellness of Indonesian workers by eliminating their dependence on loan sharks or other informal and expensive sources of capital,” said Agarwal.

“We’re giving hundreds of thousands of employees the tools and awareness to reach their financial goals with peace of mind. For employer partners, we help3 improve employee retention, productivity, and cash-flow,” he added.

“The lack of access to fair and honest financial services continues to be a critical problem in emerging markets. The vast majority of the 129 million workers in Indonesia remain underbanked,” commented Bob Rosin, Partner at Defy.vc.

Also Read: How fintech can help reach the unbanked and underbanked in Southeast Asia

“GajiGesa’s financial wellness platform is helping middle to low-income workers who live paycheck to paycheck deal with stressful cash-flow issues. It provides much needed financial stability for employers and their employees during a time of unprecedented and continued economic uncertainty,” said Yiping Goh, Partner at Quest Ventures.

According to BPS (Statistics Indonesia) data, there are approximately 129 million workers in Indonesia, many of whom regularly face increased financial stress and hardship because of cash flow constraints, traditional monthly payment schedules, unexpected expenses, and limited financial access.

The World Bank Findex estimates over 70 per cent of Indonesians borrow from informal sources, often with extortionate interest rates and undesirable terms.

Image Credit: GajiGesa

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Ecosystem Roundup: Grab raises US$2B term loan; Indonesia on a thorny path to EVs; Ant reaches agreement with China regulators on overhaul

Grab raises US$2B term loan to strengthen liquidity and diversify financing sources; The loan will enable it to “strengthen its liquidity” by further enhancing its “well-capitalised position”; Grab, valued at over US$16B, is looking at a potential US IPO this year. More here

Cialfo nets US$15M Series A+ to allow students to apply directly to thousands of colleges globally; Lead investors are SIG and Vulcan Capital; In 2020, the startup partnered with 650 top institutions such as Cambridge, Oxford, Brown, and University of Pennsylvania. More here

Singapore’s AI clinical assistant platform Bot MD snags US$5M Series A; Investors include Monk’s Hill (lead), SeaX, XA Network and SGInnovate; Bot MD provides doctors with answers to their clinical questions and allows hospitals and healthcare organisations to integrate their e-medical records and hospital info systems within their platform for doctors to access. More here

Philippine AI startup Expedock raises US$4M seed; The round was led by Ali Partovi (early investor in Airbnb, Dropbox, Facebook, Uber); Expedock is working with supply chain companies, freight forwarders, ports, carriers, customs brokers, and logistics consolidators using its proprietary technology enabling workflow automation. More here

Former Carro COO’s financial wellness app GajiGesa bags US$2.5M seed for Indonesia expansion; Lead investors are Defy.vc and Quest Ventures; GajiGesa’s provides companies and their employees the tools to streamline their cash-flow by offering financial services, including Earned Wage Access, financial literacy content and bill payments. More here

BukuWarung raises strategic financing from Rocketship, unnamed retail giant; Other investors include early backers of Adyen, Nubank and Revolut; A bookkeeping app, BukuWarung claims it serves 3.5M+ merchants across 750 cities and recorded US$15B+ worth of transactions and US$500M in payments. More here

Lack of visibility, track record deter VCs from investing in firms combating plastic pollution: Rob Kaplan of Circulate Capital; He says there is no conflict of interest in Circulate’s partnership with the likes of PepsiCo and Coca-Cola; Through its US$106M Circulate Capital Ocean Fund, the impact VC firm has invested in 7 firms, mostly in India. More here

Singapore’s digital equity management platform Qapita secures investment from East Ventures; Its platform QapMap is designed to enable cap-table management, ESOP management, and digital ESOP issuance with the aim of eventually enabling digital share issuance for companies across the region; In Sep 2020, it raised US$1.8M , led by Vulcan Capital. More here

Green Packet shareholders approve US$10M acquisition of eKYC firm Xendity; Xendity’s software complements Green Packet’s enterprise products and solutions and is expected to have a material impact to the top and bottom line of Green Packet’s digital operations. More here

Beenext promotes Faiz Rahman as Partner for Indonesia, Hero Choudhary as Managing Partner; Rahman will be heading tech investments in the archipelago, where the VC firm will largely focus on early-stage deals; To date, Beenext has invested in 80+ startups in India and 51 across SEA so far, including Zilingo, Sendo, Trusting Social. More here

Indonesia’s plant-based meat startup Green Butcher closes seed round led by Teja Ventures, Unovis; Green Butcher has also partnered to showcase a range of its products at 50 Starbucks outlets; The firm was founded by Max Mandias and Helga Angelina, founders of Burgreens, the largest plant-based eatery chain in Indonesia. More here

OceanShield raises US$800K to safeguard the maritime industry from cyber attacks; Investors include Masik Enterprise and angels; The platform offers patented cybersecurity solutions to protect the OT systems of vessels, ports and maritime and offshore infrastructure. More here

OrderEZ, a business management platform for F&B suppliers and venues, raises over US$370K seed; Investors’ names remain undisclosed; The funds will be used to consolidate its ops in Singapore and expand to Australia and New Zealand; It claims to have onboarded over 500 F&B suppliers and venues in Singapore alone and aims to grow its user base 10x by year-end. More here

Indonesia on a thorny path to electric vehicles; Research by the University of Indonesia shows that over 70% of the public are keen to have an EV; Jakarta is among a few provinces which have started to trial electric buses; Private taxi operator Bluebird has added a number of Tesla cars to its fleet. More here

Singapore excels at biggest WFH experiment of our time, says Lark study; The country is poised to offer flexible work arrangements for the long term, but there is still a need to ensure that the right collaboration tool is in place to foster a positive work environment. More here

Removing barriers to cross-border payments could be the key to unlocking SEA’s economic potential; The recent announcement of the linkage between the real-time payment systems of S’pore and Thailand is a significant step; By allowing instant money transfers with mobile phone numbers at competitive rates, cross-border remittances will be significantly simpler for businesses across the two countries. More here

Meet the 12 startups from Antler’s latest Singapore cohort; The new entrants operate in SaaS, fintech, healthtech, AI, insurtech, and art-tech; Antler runs programmes across a range of cities including Stockholm, Nairobi and Sydney, and has invested in over 250 early-stage companies. More here

Ant reaches agreement with China regulators on overhaul; Ant Group has reached an agreement with Chinese regulators on how to restructure its operations; Ant will become a holding company, subjecting its subsidiaries to bank-like regulations; The group is still exploring the possibility of reviving its IPO, which collapsed in November. More here

Singapore startup launches Asia’s first whole-plant based meat brand; KARANA’s first product is ‘pork’ made from young jackfruit; In its first phase, It is launching in Singapore with six leading restaurants; At a time when food safety, security and supply chain issues are more important than ever, its solutions deliver a new third generation meat-alternative that is minimally processed and made from whole-plants with natural meat-like qualities. More here

Inside the ‘huge untapped potential’ of SEA’s e-commerce market; Online penetration for FMCG brands in the region is still at 2% compared to 27% in China, while health and beauty is at 12% and fashion and lifestyle at 44%, compared to the 47% and 64% recorded in China for the respective categories. More here

Photo by Ernest Ojeh on Unsplash

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PasarPolis raises US$5M from World Bank’s International Finance Corporation to democratise insurance

PasarPolis Founder and CEO Cleosent Randing (right) with COO Michael Saputra

Indonesia-based insurtech startup PasarPolis today announced that it has raised US$5 million in equity finance the International Finance Corporation (IFC), a part of the World Bank Group that focuses on accelerating financial inclusion and literacy in various developing countries.

The investment was the first that IFC has made in the insurtech vertical in Indonesia.

In a virtual press conference, PasarPolis Founder and CEO Cleosent Randing explained that the funding round was not considered as part of the Series B funding round that the company has announced in September 2020. It was also not considered a Series C funding round.

“We see this as a strategic partnership as it involves more than just funding … We are working together with world-class partners to achieve our mission,” he said.

PasarPolis and IFC stated that it will jointly continue and strengthen PasarPolis’ mission to democratise insurance more broadly, one of which is through the development of micro-insurance products that are affordable and in accordance with the needs of the society.

PasarPolis also aims to use the funding to support its mission to increase insurance penetration and literacy across the region, including Vietnam and Thailand in 2021.

“From industry point-of-view, Vietnam and Indonesia have similar characteristics in its insurance market, though Thailand has a relatively higher awareness of insurance. There are many things that we have done in Indonesia that we can implement in these countries,” Randing said.

Also Read: Gojek partners PasarPolis to provide users insurance products

In a statement, PasarPolis said that around 30 million users –or nearly 11 per cent of Indonesia’s population– have purchased insurance protection from the platform. The startup considered it as a “remarkable feat” as the country’s general insurance penetration rate is still less than four per cent.

It also noted that 90 per cent of its users are first-time buyers of insurance products with 40 per cent of policyholders are workers in the informal sector.

According to Arif Baharudin, Assistant of Minister for Financial Services and Capital Market Policy and Regulation at Indonesia’s Ministry of Finance, the low penetration rate of insurance products provides plenty of room to grow for insurance companies.

“In the future, the growth of insurance will be driven by social insurance,” he said during the press conference with PasarPolis.

He pointed out several reasons that prevent financial inclusions in Indonesia –from financial literacy, access to financial services, to consumer protection.

“Digitalisation plays a crucial role in tackling these challenges,” he stressed.

Founded in 2015, PasarPolis announced an oversubscribed US$54 million Series B funding round from investors that include LeapFrog Investments, SBI Investment, AlphaJWC, Intudo Ventures and Xiaomi.

Its existing investors, including Go-Ventures, also took part in the round.

Image Credit: PasarPolis

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Betatron Venture Group, PTI join hands to invest in proptech startups in Asia

Betatron Venture Group, a network of five prominent VC funds, and PropTech Institute (PTI), an independent, non-profit association representing Asia’s proptech community, have announced a partnership to spearhead VC investments in the real-estate industry in the Asia Pacific regions.

“At Betatron, we see compelling opportunities for digital transformation in the real estate industry. We’re looking for startups that will help shape the future of the sector across Asia,” said Matthias Knobloch, Managing Partner and CEO of Betatron Venture Group.

Also Read: Can SEA’s proptech come back to its pre-COVID-19 glory? Experts speak

According to him, the partnership doesn’t have a specific target investment number in mind. “But to give you an example, in early 2020 we launched a partnership with YPSN to target investments in the logistics and maritime sector and within half a year of announcing the partnership we sourced hundreds of deals proposals and made three investments. That makes us one of the leading early-stage investors in the maritime sector in Asia.”

He further noted that while the partnership can invest as little as US$250,000 per company, it typically prefers to invest between US$500,000 and US$2 million.

Founded in 2016, Betatron is a team of eight professionals led by two partners and includes a wider network of five prominent VC funds with a combined US$800 million in assets under management and more than 200 investments across Asia.

PTI is an independent, non-profit association representing Asia’s proptech community led by a team of seasoned professionals from the real estate industry. The association seeks to bridge the gap between real estate and technology as well as providing a platform for founders, corporates and investors to drive innovation in the real estate sector.

Investments in proptech companies globally hit US$14 billion in the first half of 2019, representing a more than 300 per cent increase year on year.

Also Read: Meet the 9 startups selected for Betatron’s cohort 6 accelerator programme

“Asia with all of its mega cities and high-rise buildings is the place to be for any tech company that looks to innovate in the sector. And with our teams in Hong Kong and Singapore and the newly formed partnership with the PTI, we’re in a prime position to help scale up companies,” added Knobloch.

Image Credit: Betatron

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ASEAN policies and developments that encourage blockchain investments

The ASEAN Investment Opportunities 2021 report forecasts investment opportunities in the fields of fintech and digital innovation. These are spaces where blockchain technology is expected to thrive. Incidentally, the ASEAN bloc is viewed as a potential blockchain frontrunner given the growing number of blockchain startups in the region.

Investor interest is an important factor, but it is not going to be enough without counterpart actions from governments or regulatory bodies. In the absence of legislation or regulations that clarify the treatment of digital assets and blockchain-based transactions, tech startups that pursue blockchain applications in their business models cannot attract investors.

Investors will likely find it too risky to extend financial backing to companies that operate in markets where their businesses can face legal challenges.

ASEAN as a whole does not have specific policies related to blockchain and digital asset adoption. However, some member countries have introduced legislation or changes in their policies over the years in support of blockchain-based business models and innovations.

Singapore’s active support

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) has programmes or policies that are deemed supportive of digital currency use and blockchain applications. With these, the city-state has been dubbed as Asia’s cryptocurrency and blockchain hub. Singapore has a notably welcoming attitude towards these technologies.

As early as 2014, MAS has indicated its inclination to avoid actions that would lead to illegalising digital currency use. Also, since 2016, MAS has been exploring the use of distributed ledger technology or blockchain for payment and securities clearing and settlement. Singapore is also known for helping blockchain startups that are planning to launch initial coin offerings (ICO).

Also Read: 3 trends that defined Taiwan’s blockchain industry last year

A joint project by MAS and Temasek, a government investment firm, was initiated in 2016 to establish a blockchain-based payment system prototype that supports multiple currencies. Also, Singapore’s Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) launched a Blockchain Challenges series designed to promote and improve blockchain adoption in Singapore. This initiative aims to nurture the blockchain ecosystem in the country.

It’s not surprising why Singapore has a good number of blockchain startups. Companies such as Electrify and Bluzelle are gaining recognition for their innovative applications of blockchain technology. Of note, Electrify, a startup that decentralises the energy marketplace, attracted a US$30 million investment in 2018 to support its international expansion.

Bluzelle, a “serverless” data delivery network provider, closed a US$19.5 million ICO in 2018 after securing US$22.3 million in seven funding rounds. The company is set to launch its mainnet on February 3 this year. Bluzelle also launched its Developer Grant Program for censorship-resistant applications, with focus on increasing transparency, enhancing security and preventing censorship. The company will support innovative use-cases with its US$500,000 fund.

IMDA’s Future of Services report predicts that Singapore’s blockchain market spending can reach up to US$272 million in 2022 and up to US$2.6 billion by 2030, with a compounded annual growth rate of 32.5 per cent.

Indonesia’s change of heart

Indonesia was initially against digital currency and blockchain. It issued an outright ban against cryptocurrency in 2018. However, the government eventually changed its stance as the government decided to create legal frameworks to govern the operation of digital currencies and blockchain-based assets.

Indonesia still prohibits the use of cryptocurrency as a medium of exchange, but the country’s Commodity Futures Trading Regulatory Agency classifies cryptocurrencies as trading commodities. This gives legitimacy to crypto exchanges and other businesses involved in digital asset transactions except for the use of crypto to pay for purchases.

The government also acknowledges other applications of blockchain technology, particularly the idea of smart contracts. There is growing attention to this concept in the context of fintech regulation. Indonesia allows local companies to employ and implement blockchain-based solutions as they are viewed as essential in driving innovations in financial technology.

Also Read: How ASEAN is shaping up to be a blockchain frontrunner

The Indonesian government further demonstrated its openness to blockchain as it used the technology to verify nearly 13 per cent of the country’s votes during the last presidential election. Additionally, the government forged a partnership with PLMP FinTech, a Singaporean blockchain company, to develop new solutions and strategies for Indonesia’s logistics industry.

Indonesia has a formal blockchain organisation called the Indonesia Blockchain Association, which was created to educate and engage local regulators about blockchain. It has had considerable success as it helped government entities such as the Indonesian Customs adopt blockchain-based solutions to enhance supply chain data management. Indonesia’s biggest bank, Bank Central Asia, is also contributing to blockchain promotion with its local hack-a-thons that promote and support the development of blockchain tech for FinTech businesses.

Malaysia’s tolerance

Just like Indonesia, Malaysia was not as welcoming to blockchain adoption. However, it did not impose regulations that clearly made blockchain and cryptocurrency use in the country illegal. As such, Malaysia’s local blockchain industry gradually made progress.

Instead of shutting down businesses involved in virtual currency exchanges, what Malaysia’s authorities did was to mandate compliance to KYC requirements.

It was in 2019 when Malaysia made a significant stride towards blockchain adoption with the country’s finance minister issuing an order to recognise crypto assets and digital currencies as securities. Similar to what happened in Indonesia, this resulted in the legitimisation of crypto exchanges, initial coin offerings, and related business transactions.

In a statement, Malaysia’s Ministry of Finance recognised blockchain’s potential in ushering innovations not only in new sectors but also in traditional industries.

The Malaysian government has already approved several crypto exchanges and is moving closer towards institutionalising the buying and selling of crypto assets. In early 2020, the country’s Securities Commission introduced regulations for initial exchange offerings (IEO), which enable registered platform operators to carry out digital token offerings.

Also Read: How blockchain can help combat ongoing fraud in the Halal food industry in SEA

There are also reports that Malaysia’s national stock exchange is already considering the possible digitalisation of the bond market with the development of a proof-of-concept blockchain project.

Just like Indonesia, the move to consider cryptocurrencies as legal tender still has a long way to go. There have been no plans for a government-backed cryptocurrency similar to China’s. However, blockchain technology and digital assets are steadily gaining user adoption. Industry observers also see growing demand for crypto assets in the country partly driven by the lingering pandemic.

The takeaway

Blockchain is not just about digital currency or FinTech. It also has use cases in a variety of other settings as demonstrated by the successful startups mentioned above. However, government actions that are largely about cryptocurrency adoption and regulation are the ones that have the biggest impact in advancing the blockchain market across Southeast Asia.

Singapore, Indonesia, and Malaysia are not the only countries that have policies that help foster blockchain use. Thailand, Vietnam, and the Philippines have also made some progress towards crypto and blockchain adoption. However, the actions of the three largest economies in the ASEAN bloc somewhat summarise the developments that allowed blockchain technology to advance in the region.

One has a proactive policy that welcomes the new technology while others initially reject, then tolerate, and later on regulate.

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What metrics to monitor as a B2B SaaS company?

metrics SaaS startups

The purpose of this short article is to provide a common ground of notions and knowledge on SaaS metrics, based on the hundreds of SaaS companies we see and evaluate on a yearly basis at Qualgro.

We hope that this will help everyone in the ecosystem (founders, advisors, VC friends) to speak the same language and normalise expectations and understanding when tackling SaaS businesses.

Let’s take a simplified example to illustrate: you are a SaaS company with one product and two price tiers at US$100 and US$50 a month, respectively (for example premium and basic plan). We are in January 2021 and as of December 2020, you have 10 customers paying each US$100 monthly subscription fees, thus generating US$1,000 in subscription revenue.

What are the key metrics you should be tracking to ensure right understanding of your business and sustained longevity of your company?

The following are definitions of the main B2B SaaS metrics you should be monitoring for your company in the context given above. Note that all these metrics can, and should, be tracked across various different levels: company level, product level, cohort level, customer group level, etc.

Level 1 metrics

GM= Gross margin
This might sound obvious, and while GMs are not specific to SaaS businesses, one of the key reasons why SaaS has been so popular in the recent years as a business model and has also received so many investments, is partially due to the very attractive GMs SaaS businesses are able to generate — at least 80 per cent.

Net MRR= Monthly recurring revenues
This metric is always linked to a particular month (e.g. MRR of January 2021) or a period (e.g. average MRR for Q1 2021). The word ‘recurring’ is extremely important here: MRR is what customers are paying on a monthly— hence recurring — basis. This is basically the subscription fee to your service (think Netflix at US$8.99) and excludes any one-time fee such as POC, setup, maintenance etc.

Some of these revenues might be recurring (e.g. maintenance fees), but they do not bear the same economics and stability as your subscription revenues. These costs will still add up to your total monthly revenues. If your customers pay upfront for a given duration of usage (e.g.: 12 months in advance) then your MRR is the total revenues divided by the duration of usage.

Also Read: 4 Simple ways to cut your customer acquisition costs

Depending on how quickly you onboard your customers or how long they take to pay, you might want to track actual cash MRR vs. other MRR (e.g. contracted MRR, invoiced MRR, etc.).

(Gross) MRR $ churn= percentage of loss of MRR in $ from existing customers compared to last month

For instance, in December 2020, you had 10 customers each paying US$100. If one customer stopped paying in January 2021 and another one downgraded to your US$50 tier, your MRR churn is -15 per cent (-US$150/ US$1000).

A quick point to note: some people would rather use net $ MRR churn = $ churn — expansion (i.e. existing customers increasing their spend). In our opinion, one of the issues with looking only at net $ churn is that it hides some information. For example, you could think all is well by just looking at a negative net $ churn (basically your revenues are increasing).

In this scenario, while some customers increase their spend, you are still losing other customers and you might not be focusing enough resources on how to retain them.

Logo churn = percentage of loss of MRR in number of paying customers compared to last month
In the same example as for MRR churn, your logo churn is -10 per cent (one lost customer/10 existing).

ARR = Annual recurring revenue
This is simply 12 times the MRR of the month you are looking at (e.g ARR as of January 2021 = Jan 2021 MRR x 12) — nothing more, nothing less. Again, don’t forget to exclude any one-time fees/non-subscription revenues.

CAC = Customers’ Acquisition Cost

This is where you add all the costs incurred to acquire new customers: marketing ad spend, discounts, marketing and sales staff salaries etc. There is no absolute value of “good” or “bad” CAC but there are ratios that are useful to track (see Level 2 metrics).

LTV = Lifetime value (of a customer)
This is how much revenue a given customer will generate before churning. In our example, if a customer churns after 18 months (without changing price-tier) then his/her LTV is US$1,800.

Level 2 Metrics

Now that we have defined the main metrics to track as KPIs for your business, here are some level 2 metrics that are more reflective of your company’s health and (growth) trajectory. These are also the very metrics that potential investors will normally look at in detail, while considering an investment in your company.

Growth rate
Usually measured on the net MRR or ARR, the growth rate indicates how fast you are expanding your business. In early-stage startups in SaaS (e.g. from Pre-Series A to Series B), we usually expect companies to grow at least two–three times year-on-year— and even more for seed stage companies.

CAC payback period = CAC / cash in for a given customer or group of customers
This basically indicates how much time a given customer takes to pay back their cost to be acquired. In our example, if your average CAC is around US$300 and your gross margin around 90 per cent then the payback period is US$300 / (US$100*90 per cent) = 3.3 months for a customer to “repay” its acquisition cost.

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Usually, you would like your payback period to be less than the duration it takes to acquire customers on average. However, sales cycles tend to be longer for B2B sales than compared to B2C products, so payback periods of six months or more are not uncommon.

LTV/CAC ratio: this ratio is used to assess the efficiency of your acquisition efforts
A high ratio means you’ve found effective ways to acquire customers without spending too much. However, if it’s too high, it could mean you might not be spending enough money on acquiring customers. If your ratio is too low, it could mean that you’ve spent too much on a customer that doesn’t bring much to the company in the long run.

There is no “ideal” LTV/CAC ratio (although 3:1 is usually a good start) but by all means this should be higher than 1:1.

Also Read: Customer churn can kill your startup

Cost base: this is basically what your company is spending to operate and grow
While some people might look at the so-called burn rate = cash need “after revenues” (= revenues — costs), at Qualgro we usually look at your full cost base. For example, if we assume that your only costs are your salaries and they amount to $1,200 a month, we would assess your cash needs for year 2021 as US$1,200 x 12 = US$14,400.

Some others could say that your burn is $1,000 (revenue)— US$1,200 (cost) = US$200 on a monthly basis and you would need only US$200 x 12 = US$2,400 for year 2021.

The rationale for us to look at the full cost base without revenues is that early-stage companies have quite unpredictable revenue streams by design — even in SaaS— and knowing the real cost base of the company enables everyone to anticipate better the full cash needs to sustain in the medium term, even if revenues drop to 0.

As a matter of fact, 2020 was a good example of basing your cash needs on your full cost base and not just your “burn” (and provisioning cash closer to US$14,400 than US$2,400 in our example).

Putting things into perspective: Valuation of SaaS businesses in Southeast Asia

No article on SaaS metrics can go without a word on valuation. While some people would argue that valuing a business is more art than science, and without providing a “magic number” (hint: there is none and each company is different), we think that some common guidelines should be followed by the ecosystem to normalise everyone’s perspective on SaaS valuations in the region.

As Southeast Asia is a region and market on its own, with limited comparison possible with US, Europe or China, it is important for every stakeholders (founders, advisors, investors) to understand the intrinsic value of each business with its own characteristics and KPIs (hopefully with the help of the lists above), and not to try to copy-paste valuation multiples from other geographies as “market standard”.

On using public SaaS companies as benchmark
Valuing a private company is different from valuing a public company and using public companies’ multiples (whether revenue multiple, P/E, etc.) while providing some data points, cannot and should not be used as-is to price a private company, especially a startup in its early years. The list would be very long but the range of metrics are altogether very different: size of the customer base, consistent growth over time, product breadth and depth, etc.

On using forward multiples
These have in our opinion no business reality— valuing a business based on a multiple of one of its metrics (MRR, ARR, EBITDA, etc.) is already taking into account upcoming growth. Applying a multiple of “expected ARR’’ for the year to come is basically counting twice the effect of planned growth into the valuation.

On using US multiples for Southeast Asian companies
The US market is very different compared to SEA: maturity of the companies and customers, willingness to pay for SaaS products, size of the market, talent pool, etc. Keep in mind that the multiples used to value US companies are intrinsically tied to the local context of the market and the size of the opportunity, which is starkly different in SEA compared to the US.

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The SEA startup ecosystem kicks off the new year with a flood of fintech investment

After everything that has happened in 2020, naturally, we are kicking off the new year with fresh hope for a much brighter day. In the context of Southeast Asian (SEA) tech startup ecosystem, the fintech sector seemed to have the most reasons to be optimistic about.

In January, we published funding announcements from at least 15 companies in various locations in SEA. Of all these companies, one of the most notable funding rounds was secured by Philippine-based Mynt, which was closing into unicorn status with it.

Lending platforms also continued to become popular among investors with funding announcements by Lendela (US$2 million in pre-Series A), Pintek (US$21 million in debt financing), Alami (US$20 million in debt, equity), MicroLeap (US$3.3 million) as well as payments with Gpay (undisclosed Series A) and Momo (Series D).

In addition to these companies, we also saw movements in the buy-now-pay-later (BNPL) segment with a seed funding round for Pace, the latest newcomer in the scene.

Among the unicorns of SEA, Grab’s fintech arm GFG also secured a US$300 million Series A funding round as part of its further expansion into the scene. The funding round came amidst reports of the company’s plan for a US IPO.

The popularity of fintech investment at the end of 2020 and the beginning of 2021 might be directly related to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, which had encouraged digital transformation across many aspects of life. This is one of the trends that e27 believes will continue even after the pandemic has lessened, as it enables a new level of practicality and inclusion for the users.

Also Read: Eco-business raises funding from Tembusu Partners to grow its sustainability-focused news platform

What the rest did

Outside of the fintech scene, we also covered funding rounds by companies in the foodtech scene. But what makes January’s foodtech investment unique is the focus on improving the food production process, as opposed to the focus on finding the alternative to meat protein –which was a big theme in 2020.

For example, we had Advantir which builds capsule dessert machine Swirl.GO and Crown Tech which builds AI-powered robot baristas.

Every month, there are always some verticals that seem to stand out among the rest, that work in areas other than fintech or e-commerce. In January, those verticals included multimedia and content creation.

LottieFiles, a community platform for designers and developers, who create motion graphics using the Lottie file format, secured a US$9 million Series A.

Meanwhile, Podcast Network Asia secures a US$750,000 funding to support its expansion plan and live streaming platform GoStream announced that VinaCapital Ventures has invested a “seven-digit figure” into the company.

A different way to get funded

Following up the hype that had begun in 2020, in January, we also saw more reasons to be certain of the popularity of SPAC as an alternative route for tech companies to raise funds.

Joining the bandwagon is Catcha with its blank cheque company Catcha Investment. It has filed to raise up to US$250 million in an initial public offering and aimed to “focus on a target with operations or prospective operations in the technology, digital media, financial technology, or digital services sectors (new economy sectors) across Asia Pacific, particularly Southeast Asia and Australia.”

Also Read: MDEC joins hands with 11 ECF platforms to provide funding to Malaysia’s micro companies with cash-flow problems

Before this, there was also Poema Global Holdings, a SPAC focusing on tech firms in Asia and Europe, with its US$300 million IPO on the NASDAQ stock exchange.

e27 predicts that this trend will continue throughout 2021, especially as leading tech companies such as Tokopedia has even begun considering it as an alternative.

Image Credit: Chris Liverani on Unsplash

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